LXmas – the story so far

Every day, children open one of the little windows on their Advent calendars. Their eyes sparkle. They can hardly wait, and are completely enchanted by Christmas. But Nick and his friends can't see this excited anticipation in the adults. Do they even still believe in the magic of Christmas? Can they still be enchanted?

Nick has an idea

These doubts give Nick an idea. He writes a letter to Samichlaus and to Father Christmas with a request. Perhaps they know how adults could be reminded of and believe in the magic of Christmas again. That was in December 2017.



We also heard the children's plea for help. Together with Samichlaus and Father Christmas, we had an idea. In order for everyone, children and adults, to be enchanted by Christmas, we have to go back to the origins of this magic. So we organised a SWISS special flight to the far north – LXmas. It carried an aircraft full of expectant children and adults to Lapland. They experienced a two-day Finnish Christmas fairy-tale in Levi in Finland.



A movement is born

A year later, Nick's initial idea in December 2017 had become a proper movement. Other children joined Nick and his friends. They also wanted to help to bring the magic of Christmas back to the whole family during Advent 2018.

Nick told the children about the previous year's trip on LXmas, and hatched a plan with them so they could encourage the adults to travel with them to the home of Christmas. Because they were certain that we could also rely on the support of Samichlaus, Father Christmas and SWISS again this year.



And so, with the children's support, we were again able to fly north on a Christmas flight in 2018. LXmas took families from Switzerland to the heart of Finnish Lapland. They spent an Advent weekend in Rovaniemi, and were enchanted by numerous magical moments.



Tremendous anticipation

December 2019. The whole of Switzerland is talking about the wonderful trips on LXmas. Today, children and adults have heard of the SWISS special flight and want to be a part of it. The result is that over the coming days, our crew and families from all over Switzerland will be preparing for a trip to the magical winter wonderland in the far north. Nick and his friends have achieved their goal.

LXmas – was bisher geschah

Tag für Tag öffnen die Kinder ein Türchen am Adventskalender. Ihre Augen glänzen. Sie mögen kaum mehr warten und sind ganz verzaubert von der Weihnachtszeit. Doch Nick und seine Freunde vermissen diese Vorfreude bei den Erwachsenen: Glauben sie überhaupt noch an die Magie von Weihnachten? Lassen sie sich noch verzaubern?

Nick hat eine Idee

Diese Zweifel bringen Nick auf eine Idee. Er schreibt einen Brief an den Samichlaus und ans Christkind mit einer Bitte: Vielleicht wissen ja sie, wie man die Erwachsenen wieder dazu bringen könnte, an die Magie von Weihnachten zu glauben. Das war im Dezember 2017.



Der Hilferuf der Kinder erreichte auch uns. Gemeinsam mit dem Samichlaus und dem Christkind hatten wir eine Idee. Damit sich alle, Kinder und Erwachsene, von Weihnachten verzaubern lassen, müssen wir zurück zum Ursprung dieser Magie. Deshalb organisierten wir mit der LXmas einen SWISS-Sonderflug in den hohen Norden. Er brachte ein Flugzeug voller erwartungsvoller Kinder und Eltern nach Lappland. Im finnischen Levi erlebten sie während zweier Tage ein finnisches Weihnachtsmärchen.



Eine Bewegung entsteht

Was Nick im Dezember 2017 angestossen hatte, entwickelte sich ein Jahr später zu einer richtigen Bewegung. Weitere Kinder schlossen sich Nick und seinen Freunden an. Sie wollten helfen, auch im Advent 2018 den Weihnachtszauber für die ganze Familie zurückzubringen.

Nick erzählte den Kindern von der letztjährigen Reise mit der LXmas und heckte mit ihnen einen Plan aus, wie sie die Erwachsenen dazu bewegen könnten, mit ihnen in die Heimat von Weihnachten zu reisen. Denn sie waren sicher: Wir können uns auch dieses Jahr auf die Unterstützung des Samichlaus, des Christkinds und SWISS verlassen.



So konnten wir mit der Hilfe der Kinder auch im 2018 einen Weihnachtsflug in den Norden durchführen. Die LXmas brachte Familien aus der Schweiz in das Herzen Finnisch-Lapplands. Sie verbrachten ein Adventswochenende in Rovaniemi und liessen sich von vielen magischen Momenten verzaubern.



Die Vorfreude ist gross

Dezember 2019. Die wundervollen Reisen mit der LXmas haben sich in der ganzen Schweiz herumgesprochen. Mittlerweile kennen Kinder und Erwachsene den SWISS-Sonderflug und wollen Teil von ihm sein. So kommt es, dass sich in diesen Tagen nicht nur unsere Crew, sondern auch Familien aus der ganzen Schweiz auf eine Reise ins magische Winterwunderland im hohen Norden vorbereiten. Nick und seine Freunde haben ihr Ziel erreicht.