LXmas – the story so far

Every day, children open one of the little windows on their Advent calendars. Their eyes sparkle. They can hardly wait, and are completely enchanted by Christmas. But Nick and his friends can't see this excited anticipation in the adults. Do they even still believe in the magic of Christmas? Can they still be enchanted?

Nick has an idea

These doubts give Nick an idea. He writes a letter to Samichlaus and to Father Christmas with a request. Perhaps they know how adults could be reminded of and believe in the magic of Christmas again. That was in December 2017.



We also heard the children's plea for help. Together with Samichlaus and Father Christmas, we had an idea. In order for everyone, children and adults, to be enchanted by Christmas, we have to go back to the origins of this magic. So we organised a SWISS special flight to the far north – LXmas. It carried an aircraft full of expectant children and adults to Lapland. They experienced a two-day Finnish Christmas fairy-tale in Levi in Finland.



A movement is born

A year later, Nick's initial idea in December 2017 had become a proper movement. Other children joined Nick and his friends. They also wanted to help to bring the magic of Christmas back to the whole family during Advent 2018.

Nick told the children about the previous year's trip on LXmas, and hatched a plan with them so they could encourage the adults to travel with them to the home of Christmas. Because they were certain that we could also rely on the support of Samichlaus, Father Christmas and SWISS again this year.



And so, with the children's support, we were again able to fly north on a Christmas flight in 2018. LXmas took families from Switzerland to the heart of Finnish Lapland. They spent an Advent weekend in Rovaniemi, and were enchanted by numerous magical moments.



Tremendous anticipation

December 2019. The whole of Switzerland is talking about the wonderful trips on LXmas. Today, children and adults have heard of the SWISS special flight and want to be a part of it. The result is that over the coming days, our crew and families from all over Switzerland will be preparing for a trip to the magical winter wonderland in the far north. Nick and his friends have achieved their goal.

LXmas jusqu’à aujourd’hui

Jour après jour, les enfants ouvrent les petites fenêtres de leur calendrier de l’Avent. Leurs yeux brillent. Leur impatience est palpable, ils sont entièrement sous le charme de la période de Noël. Pourtant, Nick et ses amis ne retrouvent pas cette joie chez les adultes: d’ailleurs, croient-ils encore en la magie de Noël? Cèdent-ils encore à l’émerveillement?

L’idée de Nick

Ces interrogations font germer une idée en Nick. Il écrit une lettre à Saint Nicolas et à l’Enfant Jésus, il a quelque chose à leur demander: peut-être savent-ils comment amener les adultes à croire à nouveau en la magie de Noël. C’était en décembre 2017.



L’appel à l’aide de ces quelques enfant nous est également parvenu. En compagnie de Saint Nicolas et de l’Enfant Jésus, nous avons eu une idée. Pour que petits et grands se laissent tous envoûter par Noël, il nous faut revenir aux racines de la magie. C’est dans ce but que nous organisons LXmas, un vol SWISS spécial pour le Grand Nord. Dans ce cadre, nous avons emmené jusqu’en Laponie un avion plein de parents et d’enfants. À Levi, ils ont eu l'occasion de vivre pendant deux jours un véritable conte de Noël finlandais.



Naissance d'un mouvement

Né de l’idée qui a frappé Nick en décembre 2017, un véritable mouvement s’enclenche un an plus tard. D’autres enfants rejoignent peu à peu Nick et ses amis. Pour la période de l’Avent 2018, ils souhaitent une fois encore restaurer la magie de Noël pour toute la famille.

Nick raconte aux enfants le voyage de l’année précédente sur le vol LXmas, et en leur compagnie, il échafaude un plan pour entraîner les adultes à leur suite jusqu’au pays de Noël. Car ils n’ont aucun doute à ce sujet: cette année encore, ils peuvent avoir toute confiance en Saint Nicolas, l’Enfant Jésus et SWISS pour les aider.



C’est ainsi qu’avec l’aide des enfants, nous avons organisé, en 2018 encore, un vol de Noël vers le Nord. LXmas a mené les familles de la Suisse jusqu’au cœur de la Laponie finlandaise. Elles ont passé un weekend de l’Avent à Rovaniemi où chacun a pu se laisser émerveillé par de nombreux instants magiques.



L’excitation est à son comble

Décembre 2019. L’histoire des fabuleux voyages LXmas s’est répandue dans toute la Suisse. Désormais, parents et enfants connaissent tous les vols spéciaux SWISS et veulent en être. Et c’est ainsi qu’aujourd'hui, non seulement notre équipage, mais aussi des familles de la Suisse toute entière se préparent pour un voyage vers le pays de l’hiver. Direction le grand Nord! Nick et ses amis ont atteint leur objectif.